Contact front desk

Ride for a Purpose

The Virgin Active Ride Joburg hosted by the City of Johannesburg, is more than just a cycling race – it’s a platform for participants to accomplish something greater than themselves. Whether achieving a personal goal; fundraising for charity or helping those who need a boost en route, this event allows participants and supporters alike to reach out, support each other, and make themselves and the whole of Joburg proud.

retreat &restore at farm sanctuary
retreat &restore at farm sanctuary

Why not commit to tackling the challenging 97km route for a cause that is greater than yourself? Since its inception in 2011, the Ride for a Purpose initiative has helped countless charities raise over R103 million, enabling these organisations to continue the good work they do, touching lives across the nation.

How to become a Ride for a Purpose Hero
Register your charity team

A Charity Team is made up of 10 or more entries to help raise funds for the charity. Only registered charities may use the Virgin Active Ride Joburg as a platform to raise funds and awareness for their cause. Registrations of new charity teams close on 29th September 2024.

READ MORE
Join a registered charity team

If you’d like to ride for or donate funds to a registered charity, choose a registered charity and contact the team leader directly for information on how to become a part of their charity. Charity entries close on 29th September 2024.

You will need to use a promo code from the charity team leader to link you to their team when entering online.

EMAIL US
Charity Teams

Abraham Kriel Bambanani
Ricci Boonzaaier
rb@abrahamkriel.org

Bethany House Trust
André Kleynhans
andre@eziproperties.co.za

Border Collie Rescue
Gillian Pearson
gillypearson1@gmail.com

Boston Terrier Rescue South Africa
Nadia Gous
btrsa947team@gmail.com

Bulldog Rescue
Jean-Mari Smit
info@bulldogrescue.co.za

Casa-bility
Annelien Cyster
annelienc@casa.joburg

CANSA
Leillani Geduld
lgeduld@cansa.org.za


Els for Autism South Africa

Inga Mdlatu
inga.mdlatu@elsforautism.org

Germiston Bedfordview SPCA
Jacques Peacock
committee3@gbvspca.co.za

Guide Dogs
Nicole Barros
nicoleb@guidedog.org.za

ILoveBoobies
Nicky Webb
nicky@iloveboobies.co.za

Jozi Justice
Nigel Laver
nigel@jozitrails.co.za

Lionroar
Handre Verreynne
handre.verreynne@gmail.com

LITTLE EDEN Society
Nadine Mason
nm@littleeden.org.za

Midrand SPCA

Brenda Lucas
info@midrandspca.co.za

MES

Brigitte Potgieter
brigitte@mes.org.za

Mouse-Free Marion
Liezl Pretorius
liezl.pretorius@mousefreemarion.org


Muscle Riders
Robert Scott
mdfgauteng@mdsa.org.za

Pedal For Good
Jaco van der Linde
jaco@pedalproject.co.za

Pedalling for Nutrition
Malvern Mhlanga
malvern@pan-sa.org

Rare Diseases South Africa
Sumaya Moodley
support@rarediseases.co.za

Retina SA
Linsay Engelbrecht
events@retinasa.org.za

Ride for Smiles
Itumeleng Maboye
dr.maboye@kidsdentalhome.co.za

SABA
Melani Winkler
sabassetadoptions@gmail.com

Starfish
Mpiliso Skosana
media@starfish.org.za

Save the Children SA
Renias Muwando
rmuwando@savethechildren.org.za

TELL
Stella de Kock
stella.dekock@tell.org.za

The Bethany House Trust
Andre Kleynhans
andre@eziproperties.co.za

The Character Company
Thando Malepe
thando.ch@racter.co.za

The Society for Animals in Distress
Meg Harvey
meg@animalsindistress.org.za

The Stroke Survivors Foundation Team
Tarryn Sinden
tarrynhouston14@gmail.com

Teddy Bear Foundation
Dalene Bishop
ridejoburg@ttbc.org.za

Thomson Smillie Foundation Bike Club
Wesley Thomson
wes@pinet.co.za












Road
Races

97 / 35km
17 Nov
MORE INFO

Mountain
Bike Races

10 / 25 / 50km
9+10 Nov
MORE INFO

Kids
Races

1 / 1.5 / 3 / 5.5km
9 Nov
MORE INFO